•Home •About the Site •Affiliates •Affiliation •Contact •Privacy Policy •Product Reviews •Site Exclusives •About Megan •Site Map
Ice Cream Man JKR Fan MBBO Harry Potter Alliance

All Affiliates | Apply

Want to advertise on Magical-Menagerie?

Bloomsbury Announces The Tales of Beedle the Bard Illustrated Edition Events
Posted by Megs

Bloomsbury Children’s Books has announced five theatre events and two festival appearances with artist Chris Riddell to celebrate publication of The Tales of Beedle the Bard Illustrated Edition.

At each of the theatre events former Children’s Laureate Chris Riddell will be talking about his inspiration behind the art for the book and what it was like to illustrate J.K. Rowling’s words. There will be a dramatic reading of one of the stories from the book while Chris Riddell draws live. Only five events will be happening across the UK and are set to be an essential event for fans of Harry Potter, Chris Riddell and magical fairy tales. Chris Riddell will be signing copies of the book after each event.

Chris Riddell will also be appearing at Bath and Cheltenham festivals where he will be in conversation discussing his work on the illustrated edition.

 

Scheduled events are as follows:

Tuesday 2nd October
Shakespeare’s Globe, London
Live reading: The Tale of the Three Brothers
SOLD OUT

 

Wednesday 3rd October
City Campus, Nottingham
Live reading: Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump
Book tickets

 

Sunday 7th October
Bath Festival of Children’s Literature
In Conversation event
Book tickets

 

Monday 8th October
Prestfelde School, Shrewsbury
Live reading: The Warlock’s Hairy Heart
Book tickets

 

Tuesday 9th October
Bluecoat Arts Centre, Liverpool
Live reading: The Fountain of Fair Fortune
Book tickets

 

Thursday 11th October
The Albany Theatre, Coventry
Live reading: The Wizard and the Hopping Pot
Book tickets

 

Sunday 14th October
Cheltenham Literature Festival
In Conversation event
Book tickets

Filed Under: Books, Harry Potter Illustrated Edition
Barnes & Noble Announces LEGO Harry Potter Hogwarts Train Build Event
Posted by Megs

Barnes & Noble has announced a LEGO® Harry Potter Hogwarts Train Build event at select stores nationwide Saturday, August 4! This event continues the celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the United States. A new line of LEGO Harry Potter products will be available for purchase at the event and readers will get 25% off all Harry Potter paperback books, including Brian Selznick’s new artwork editions! More details on the event may be read below:

Barnes & Noble, Inc. (NYSE: BKS), the world’s largest retail bookseller, today announced that it will be hosting a LEGO® Harry Potter™ Hogwarts™ Train build event at select stores nationwide on Saturday, August 4, at 2 PM, where customers will have the opportunity to build a mini Hogwarts train that they can take home with them. There are limited quantities available and select stores may require customers to sign up for the event in advance. Customers should contact their local store for details as soon as possible so they do not miss out on this exciting event!

A new line of LEGO® Harry Potter products will be available for purchase at the event, while supplies last, including LEGO® Fantastic Beasts™ Newt’s Case of Magical Creatures and LEGO® Harry Potter™ and Fantastic Beasts™ Minifigures. The full list of new LEGO® Harry Potter products that launch at Barnes & Noble on August 1 and will be available for purchase at the event, while supplies last, will include the following:

  • Hogwarts™ Express
  • Aragog’s Lair
  • Newt’s Case of Magical Creatures
  • LEGO® Harry Potter™ and Fantastic Beasts™ Minifigures
  • Hogwarts™ Great Hall
  • Grindelwald’s Escape
  • Hogwarts™ Whomping Willow™

The event continues Barnes & Noble’s 20th anniversary celebration of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the United States, and also will include 20 Years of Magic event kits featuring cool giveaways.

In addition, customers will receive 25% off all Harry Potter paperbacks, including the new books featuring Brian Selznick’s artwork, in-store and online through August 6.

Customers are encouraged to share pictures of the event on their social media channels using the hashtags, #BNHarryPotter20 and #BNLEGOBuild.

For more information, customers should visit the Barnes & Noble Store Locator or speak with one of the knowledgeable booksellers at their local store.

Filed Under: Books, LEGO Harry Potter
Theme for Harry Potter Book Night 2019 Revealed
Posted by Megs

Bloomsbury have announced the theme for Harry Potter Book Night 2019! Harry Potter Book Night returns for a fifth year on Thursday 7th February 2019 with the theme of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Sign up at www.harrypotterbooknight.com to register for an event kit and to make sure you’re one of the first to hear all the latest Harry Potter Book Night news.

Not everyone is lucky enough to attend a school where the staircases constantly move, portraits talk to each other and students get to study magical lessons such as Potions, Charms, Transfiguration and Herbology.

Bloomsbury will put this amazing school and all the exciting adventures that have happened within its walls at the very heart of Harry Potter Book Night 2019.

There have now been over 35,000 events organised since Harry Potter Book Night began in 2015 with over 13,000 organised in 2018 alone.

Bloomsbury aim to make Harry Potter Book Night 2019 the biggest yet.

With an updated event kit themed around Hogwarts and lots more exciting elements yet to be announced, once again fans of all ages will have the chance to celebrate J.K. Rowling’s wonderful novels – and pass the magic on to young readers who haven’t yet discovered these unforgettable books.

And remember to share your ideas and plans for Harry Potter Book Night on Twitter and Facebook using#HarryPotterBookNight.

Filed Under: Books
Bloomsbury Commissions 7 Spider models to mark 20th Anniversary of Chamber of Secrets
Posted by Megs

Monday 2nd July marks 20 years since the first publication of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and to celebrate Bloomsbury Children’s Books has commissioned seven spider models created from the pages of the brand new House Editions. These new Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets House Editions will be published in hardback and paperback TODAY, 28th June 2018! You can order them on the Bloomsbury website, Amazon UK (Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, Slytherin) or your local store! Fans in the US can order from Amazon UK or try eBay to purchase.

Designed and built by London-based creative agency Create 180, the models will be unveiled across the UK on Saturday 30th June. Six of the spiders will be on display at bookshops. The big arachnids (approximately 50x50cm) will appear at five Waterstones stores (Edinburgh, Leeds, Liverpool, London Piccadilly and Nottingham) and The Book Nook in Hove, winner of Children’s Bookseller of the Year at The British Book Awards. The seventh spider will be on display at the Bloomsbury offices for the anniversary date and will then be sent on to Seven Stories in Newcastle.

Each spider will have a unique ‘skin’ created from pages of the House Editions of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Published for this very special anniversary the House Editions have cover art by award-winning artist Levi Pinfold. The hardbacks will be in each house colour with artwork in black and striped sprayed edges. The paperbacks will be black with artwork in the corresponding house colours. Both editions will contain additional content including an illustration of the house common room by Levi Pinfold, a house introduction and a mini-feature on house-elves. Books will be in stores from Friday 29th June.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was first published in 1998. It continued the adventures of Harry Potter at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and introduced the world to classic characters such as Dobby the house-elf, Gilderoy Lockhart and the monstrous Acromantula Aragog! The Harry Potter series has now sold over 500 million copies worldwide.

The addresses of the bookstores are as follows:

Waterstones Edinburgh – West End – 128 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 4AD
T: 0131 226 2666 / E: edinburghwestend@waterstones.com

Waterstones Leeds – 93-97 Albion Street, Leeds, LS1 5AP
T: 0113 244 4588 / E: leeds@waterstones.com

Waterstones Liverpool – 12 College Lane, Liverpool, L1 3DL
T: 0151 709 9820 / E: liverpoolone@waterstones.com

Waterstones London – Piccadilly – 203/206 Piccadilly, London, W1J 9HD
T: 020 7851 2400 / E: piccadilly@waterstones.com

Waterstones Nottingham – 1/5 Bridlesmith Gate, Nottingham, NG1 2GR
T: 0115 9470069 / E: nottingham@waterstones.com

The Book Nook – First Avenue, Hove, BN3 2FJ
T: 01273 911988 / E: info@booknookuk.com

Seven Stories, The National Centre for Children’s Books – 30 Lime Street, Ouseburn Valley, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 2PQ
T: 0300 330 1095 ext 300 / E: info@sevenstories.org.uk

Filed Under: Bloomsbury House Editions, Books
Bloomsbury reveals cover for new illustrated edition of Beedle the Bard
Posted by Megs

Click to view full size image

Bloomsbury has revealed the cover for the new illustrated edition of The Tales of Beedle the Bard, illustrated by Chris Riddell. It will be published in hardback on 2nd October 2018 for £25 with a Deluxe Edition available for £120. The cover can be seen in high resolution in the gallery.

Bloomsbury Children’s Books today reveals the cover of the full-colour Illustrated Edition of J.K. Rowling’s The Tales of Beedle the Bard illustrated by Chris Riddell. The cover brings together some of the main characters from the five wizarding fairytales in the book, including Babbitty Rabbitty and the Hopping Pot. Much loved by generations of witches and wizards since they first appeared in the fifteenth century, this beautifully illustrated edition is set to become a firm favourite at bedtime in non-magical households the world over.

Publishing on 2nd October 2018, The Tales of Beedle the Bard Illustrated Edition features show-stopping illustrations for all five tales and Dumbledore’s accompanying notes. Chris Riddell, three times winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, bestselling author and former Children’s Laureate, brings J.K. Rowling’s text to life with beautiful ink and watercolour artwork.

Mischievous and witty, these five rollicking tales are a deeply satisfying read in the tradition of all great fables and fairytales. Kindnesses are rewarded and selfishness shown to be the ruin of many a wizard. Burping cauldrons, hairy hearts and cackling stumps are met along the way. Each of the tales is accompanied by a deliciously subversive and insightful commentary by Professor Albus Dumbledore. Translated from the runes by Hermione Granger, The Tales of Beedle the Bard also includes ‘The Tale of the Three Brothers’, familiar to readers of Harry Potter from the crucial role it played in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Proceeds from the sale of this edition will go to J.K. Rowling’s own international charity Lumos, which helps some of the world’s most vulnerable children and young people to have a better life.

Filed Under: Books, Harry Potter Illustrated Edition
Audiobook for ‘Quidditch Through The Ages’ Announced
Posted by Megs

At this year’s Celebration of Harry Potter a new audiobook for Quidditch Through the Ages was announced. Andrew Lincoln has lent his voice to the new audio book version of the Hogwarts Library book, Quidditch Through the Ages. Here’s his message to fans at A Celebration of Harry Potter 2018.

Filed Under: Books
Next

Site Design by Jenny Jenkins