•Home •About the Site •Affiliates •Affiliation •Contact •Privacy Policy •Product Reviews •Site Exclusives •About Megan •Site Map
Ice Cream Man MBBO Harry Potter Alliance

All Affiliates | Apply

Want to advertise on Magical-Menagerie?

Cover For Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Illustrated Edition Revealed
Posted by Megs

Bloomsbury have revealed the beautiful new cover for the Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Illustrated Edition. For the breathtaking front cover image, Jim Kay has pictured the moment Harry Potter faces the Hungarian Horntail dragon during his first task in the Triwizard Tournament.

More photos from inside the book have also been released and can be seen in the gallery!

Publishing in the UK and US on Tuesday 8th October 2019, the hardback Illustrated Edition will feature a wraparound dust jacket, ribbon marker, head and tail bands, illustrated endpapers and over 115 colour images. The Illustrated Edition will subsequently be published around the world in more than 21 languages all featuring Jim Kay’s artistic wizardry. A sumptuous Deluxe Edition will also publish simultaneously.
 
The first three Harry Potter Illustrated Editions were published to worldwide critical acclaim and Jim Kay’s artwork was universally embraced by fans and new readers alike. Combined sales of all the current Illustrated Editions across hardback and paperback formats now exceed 500,000 copies through UK TCM. All three previous Illustrated Editions hit the No.1 position in the official UK Children’s TCM Chart.

Filed Under: Books, Harry Potter Illustrated Edition
Bloomsbury Announces 20th Anniversary House Editions of Prisoner of Azkaban
Posted by Megs

Today Bloomsbury announces the House Editions of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Both hardcover and paperback versions will be released on June 13th 2019. They will be published in time for the 20th anniversary of the book on Monday 8th July (the book was released in the USA that October.)

These beautiful House Editions will be a must-have addition to any fan’s bookshelf. Illustrated by Levi Pinfold, the front covers of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban will feature the black dog Animagus of Sirius Black as a central image with beautiful iconography and bespoke features woven into the design, drawing on themes and moments from this much-loved story.

The books can be pre-ordered on Bloomsbury’s website. The hardcover retails for £14.99 but can be pre-ordered for £11.99 while the paperback is £7.19, retail £7.99. View photos of all eight covers in our gallery!

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban House Editions

More from the press release

There will be complementary hardback and paperback editions of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. The hardbacks will be black with the house crest in a house colour and striped sprayed edges. The paperbacks will reverse the house colour theme and have single colour sprayed edges. Both editions will contain additional fascinating facts about the houses of Hogwarts, and specially commissioned illustrations by Levi Pinfold, showing favourite characters casting their Patronus.
 
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was first published on 8th July 1999. It was the book that began to reveal Harry Potter’s deeper destiny and heralded the start of a phenomenon. Considered the fan favourite by many, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban introduced the terrifying Dementors to readers and the powerful Patronus Charm that defeated them, as well as four of Hogwarts’ most memorable alumni – Messrs Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs!
 
The House Editions of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone were published to great acclaim in 2017 and became the backbone of the campaign for the 20th anniversary. They were followed by equally luxurious House Editions of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in 2018. Bloomsbury will publish House Editions of the remaining four novels in the Harry Potter series. Dates yet to be decided.

Filed Under: Bloomsbury House Editions, Books
Harry Potter: A Pop-Up Guide to Hogwarts Releasing This Fall
Posted by Megs

This Fall fans will be able to purchase A Pop-Up Guide to Hogwarts. With incredibly detailed recreations of the Hogwarts Castle, Forbidden Forest, Quidditch Pitch and beyond, it has endless interactive hidden flaps to reveal your favourite characters and behind-the-scenes facts. Fans in the US will be able to pre-order now or purchase starting October 23rd while fans in the UK can pre-order or purchase on November 1st.

This 3D masterpiece celebrates Harry Potter’s School of Witchcraft and Wizardry like never before, with pop-up magic from New York Times best-selling paper engineer Matthew Reinhart.

Open an exhilarating, interactive guide to the school with hidden flaps to reveal your favourite characters and behind-the-scenes facts. This highly collectible book features spectacular recreations of the Hogwarts Castle, Quidditch pitch, Forbidden Forest, Hogsmeade Village, and beyond.

Matthew Reinhart studied industrial design at the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn before finding his calling as a paper engineer. His books include the best-selling Star Wars: A Pop-Up Guide to the Galaxy, and A Pop-Up Book of Nursery Rhymes, among many other award-winning titles. He lives in New York City.

Since pursuing a career in illustration, having initially found himself in the financial sector, Kevin Wilson has exhibited his work globally and worked with clients such as IMAX, Marvel and Bad Robot. He lives with his wife and two daughters in the south of England.

Click to view full size image

Filed Under: Books, Other Potter Related
Bloomsbury Announces The Tales of Beedle the Bard Illustrated Edition Events
Posted by Megs

Bloomsbury Children’s Books has announced five theatre events and two festival appearances with artist Chris Riddell to celebrate publication of The Tales of Beedle the Bard Illustrated Edition.

At each of the theatre events former Children’s Laureate Chris Riddell will be talking about his inspiration behind the art for the book and what it was like to illustrate J.K. Rowling’s words. There will be a dramatic reading of one of the stories from the book while Chris Riddell draws live. Only five events will be happening across the UK and are set to be an essential event for fans of Harry Potter, Chris Riddell and magical fairy tales. Chris Riddell will be signing copies of the book after each event.

Chris Riddell will also be appearing at Bath and Cheltenham festivals where he will be in conversation discussing his work on the illustrated edition.

 

Scheduled events are as follows:

Tuesday 2nd October
Shakespeare’s Globe, London
Live reading: The Tale of the Three Brothers
SOLD OUT

 

Wednesday 3rd October
City Campus, Nottingham
Live reading: Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump
Book tickets

 

Sunday 7th October
Bath Festival of Children’s Literature
In Conversation event
Book tickets

 

Monday 8th October
Prestfelde School, Shrewsbury
Live reading: The Warlock’s Hairy Heart
Book tickets

 

Tuesday 9th October
Bluecoat Arts Centre, Liverpool
Live reading: The Fountain of Fair Fortune
Book tickets

 

Thursday 11th October
The Albany Theatre, Coventry
Live reading: The Wizard and the Hopping Pot
Book tickets

 

Sunday 14th October
Cheltenham Literature Festival
In Conversation event
Book tickets

Filed Under: Books, Harry Potter Illustrated Edition
Barnes & Noble Announces LEGO Harry Potter Hogwarts Train Build Event
Posted by Megs

Barnes & Noble has announced a LEGO® Harry Potter Hogwarts Train Build event at select stores nationwide Saturday, August 4! This event continues the celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the United States. A new line of LEGO Harry Potter products will be available for purchase at the event and readers will get 25% off all Harry Potter paperback books, including Brian Selznick’s new artwork editions! More details on the event may be read below:

Barnes & Noble, Inc. (NYSE: BKS), the world’s largest retail bookseller, today announced that it will be hosting a LEGO® Harry Potter™ Hogwarts™ Train build event at select stores nationwide on Saturday, August 4, at 2 PM, where customers will have the opportunity to build a mini Hogwarts train that they can take home with them. There are limited quantities available and select stores may require customers to sign up for the event in advance. Customers should contact their local store for details as soon as possible so they do not miss out on this exciting event!

A new line of LEGO® Harry Potter products will be available for purchase at the event, while supplies last, including LEGO® Fantastic Beasts™ Newt’s Case of Magical Creatures and LEGO® Harry Potter™ and Fantastic Beasts™ Minifigures. The full list of new LEGO® Harry Potter products that launch at Barnes & Noble on August 1 and will be available for purchase at the event, while supplies last, will include the following:

  • Hogwarts™ Express
  • Aragog’s Lair
  • Newt’s Case of Magical Creatures
  • LEGO® Harry Potter™ and Fantastic Beasts™ Minifigures
  • Hogwarts™ Great Hall
  • Grindelwald’s Escape
  • Hogwarts™ Whomping Willow™

The event continues Barnes & Noble’s 20th anniversary celebration of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the United States, and also will include 20 Years of Magic event kits featuring cool giveaways.

In addition, customers will receive 25% off all Harry Potter paperbacks, including the new books featuring Brian Selznick’s artwork, in-store and online through August 6.

Customers are encouraged to share pictures of the event on their social media channels using the hashtags, #BNHarryPotter20 and #BNLEGOBuild.

For more information, customers should visit the Barnes & Noble Store Locator or speak with one of the knowledgeable booksellers at their local store.

Filed Under: Books, LEGO Harry Potter
Theme for Harry Potter Book Night 2019 Revealed
Posted by Megs

Bloomsbury have announced the theme for Harry Potter Book Night 2019! Harry Potter Book Night returns for a fifth year on Thursday 7th February 2019 with the theme of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Sign up at www.harrypotterbooknight.com to register for an event kit and to make sure you’re one of the first to hear all the latest Harry Potter Book Night news.

Not everyone is lucky enough to attend a school where the staircases constantly move, portraits talk to each other and students get to study magical lessons such as Potions, Charms, Transfiguration and Herbology.

Bloomsbury will put this amazing school and all the exciting adventures that have happened within its walls at the very heart of Harry Potter Book Night 2019.

There have now been over 35,000 events organised since Harry Potter Book Night began in 2015 with over 13,000 organised in 2018 alone.

Bloomsbury aim to make Harry Potter Book Night 2019 the biggest yet.

With an updated event kit themed around Hogwarts and lots more exciting elements yet to be announced, once again fans of all ages will have the chance to celebrate J.K. Rowling’s wonderful novels – and pass the magic on to young readers who haven’t yet discovered these unforgettable books.

And remember to share your ideas and plans for Harry Potter Book Night on Twitter and Facebook using#HarryPotterBookNight.

Filed Under: Books
Next

Site Design by Jenny Jenkins