Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Publishing Facts and Information:

UK Book Info

  • First British Printing:July 8, 2000
  • Initial Print Run: 1.5 Million
  • Pages (paperback): 636
  • Price (Hardcover): £14.99

US Book Info

  • First U.S. Printing:July 8, 2000
  • Initial Print Run: 3.8 Million
  • Pages: 734
  • Price (Hardcover): $25.95
  • Outside: Black and Bronze
    Inside: Purple
    Title Writing: Bronze

Dedications (US):

To Peter Rowling
In Memory of Mr. Ridley
And To Susan Sladden,
Who Helped Harry get out of his cupboard

Summaries from the back of the books

(from back of UK book)
It is the summer holidays and soon Harry Potter will be starting his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry is counting the days: there are new spells to be learnt, more quidditch to be played, and Hogwarts castle to continue exploring. But Harry needs to be careful – there are unexpected dangers lurking…

(from back of US book)
Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush(and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that’s supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunatley for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards.

And in his case, different can be deadly.


  1. The Riddle House
  2. The Scar
  3. The Invitation
  4. Back to the Burrow
  5. Weasleys’ Wizard Weezes
  6. The Portkey
  7. Bagman and Crouch
  8. The Quidditch World Cup
  9. The Dark Mark
  10. Mayhem at the Ministry
  11. Aboard the Hogwarts Express
  12. The Triwizard Tournament
  13. Mad-Eye Moody
  14. The Unforgivable Curses
  15. Beauxbatons and Durmstrang
  16. The Goblet of Fire
  17. The Four Champions
  18. The Weighing of the Wands
  19. The Hungarian Horntail
  20. The First Task
  21. The House-Elf Liberation Front
  22. The Unexpected Task
  23. The Yule Ball
  24. Rita Skeeter’s Scoop
  25. The Egg and the Eye
  26. The Second Task
  27. Padfoot Returns
  28. The Madness of Mr. Crouch
  29. The Dream
  30. The Pensieve
  31. The Third Task
  32. Flesh, Blood, and Bone
  33. The Death Eaters
  34. Priori Incantatem
  35. Veritaserum
  36. The Parting of the Ways
  37. The Beginnings

Awards and Recognitions:

  • Scottish Arts Council Book Award, 2001
  • Children’s Book Award 9-11 category, 2001
  • Audio Book Grammy Award- Best Spoken Word Album for Children, February 2001 Jim Dale, reader, Random House Audio Publishing Group

Plot Summary: Contains Spoilers

Short Summary:

If you wish to submit a short summary, please email webmiss[at]magical-menagerie[dot]com

Long Summary:

If you wish to submit a long summary, please email webmiss[at]magical-menagerie[dot]com